Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Image

What it is: Bacardi Dragon Berry Rum is an Asian-inspired rum that is infused with vine-ripened strawberries and dragonfruit.

T thought she should branch out of her vodka drenched heart and try a different type of alcohol, so while in the liquor store, this bottle caught my eye and I thought I would give it a try. I conceptualized three different cocktails quickly and then got really excited…because that meant drinking three cocktails! Woot Woot!

The first attempt:

Ice

1 oz Bacardi Dragon Berry Rum

3 oz Lemon-Lime Soda (Sprite/7-Up)

Image

The Verdict: I didn’t realize that this was going to be so strawberry flavored. Why would I think strawberry rum would taste like strawberries? Hmm. I actually didn’t taste any of the dragon fruit, which has a melon flavor. It was all strawberry! It was very sweet, too sweet for me. The strawberry flavor is like candy but I found this was just too strawberry flavored, I need more of a kick. If you like sweet drinks, you will like this. It has literally no taste of alcohol, so it could be dangerous. Garnish with a fresh strawberry.

The second attempt:

Ice

1 oz Bacardi Dragon Berry Rum

2 oz Club Soda

Image

The Verdict: I always have to make a diet version of our cocktails, since my girl spends a lot of time at the gym. I liked this version much better than the first. This was less sweet and tasted like a mild strawberry soda pop. Yum! I can definitely see M drinking 1, 2, or 3…of these. It’s not something I would have every night but to accompany my strawberry and balsamic grilled chicken salad (recipe to come), I think it would be perfect and M would be enjoying every last bite..and sip.

The final attempt:

1 oz Bacardi Dragon Berry Rum

2 oz Lemonade

Optional: Splash of Lemon-Lime Soda

Directions:

Place crushed ice in martini shaker. Add rum and lemonade. Shake and strain into a martini glass and then add your splash of Sprite/7-Up. Garnish with a lemon twist. You always want to add anything carbonated after you shake the other ingredients, not only does it make it go flat if you shake it but it can fizz up and make an awful mess. Make sure you add the soda after you shake the rum and lemonade together.

Image

The Verdict: It tastes like strawberry lemonade. Love it! Make sure you use a lemonade that you enjoy the taste of if it is store bought. Some can be too sugary or not sugary enough, it is a personal preference. The lemonade will be the thing you taste the most of, with just a hint of strawberry flavor. I like a little carbonation added to my drinks, so the Sprite is optional. I felt like it added another element to this cocktail and it was so good…I literally guzzled it down in under a minute. Should I not admit that? Oh well, it was good.

Let us know in the comments what cocktails you make with Bacardi Dragon Berry Rum or if you would like us to review any other liquors. You can also email us at: two.lesbians.eating.out@gmail.com

Bottoms Up!

~ T & M

 

