Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Image

This recipe was a Pinterest find and was originally posted on Costa Kitchen ,which I found via Lifestyle 365. M has been really enjoying her born again love for brussels sprouts lately and I am so happy that she has almost let those painful childhood memories of them slip away (read more about this painful memory at: Union Pig & Chicken). With this born again love for brussels sprouts, this has left me with the task of finding different ways to cook and flavor this wonderful vegetable. So, while searching Pinterest for brussels sprouts recipes, this recipe immediately caught my eye. It is such a unique way to serve the sprouts and I think it would make a unique appetizer and snack for any table. I am definitely going to make these next time M is in town but I had to try them myself first, of course. Now, M is not a mayonnaise fan but I think the combination of the garlic, lemon, and parsley with the cabbage like flavor of the brussels sprouts really works and you don’t realize you are consuming mayonnaise. It gave it just enough tang and creaminess. I am a fan of these! Thanks to Costa Kitchen and Lifestyle 365 for this recipe, it will be a repeat at my dinner table.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Garlic Aioli

Ingredients:

20 Brussels Sprouts, cut into wedges

6 tablespoons Mayonnaise (I used light mayo. M or my thighs would not have been happy if I didn’t)

1 teaspoon Lemon Juice

1/4 teaspoon Garlic, minced

1 tablespoon Flat Leaf Parsley, minced (I will admit that I used more, I love parsley)

Canola Oil

Salt and Pepper

Directions:

Pull off any dark outer leaves from the brussels sprouts and cut them into wedges.

Image

Image

Place wedges on a baking sheet (Yes, I know that I need a new baking sheet but I love this one!), drizzle with canola oil and generously salt and pepper. Toss around to make sure each wedge is coated well and bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes until one side is golden brown. Keep an eye on these as oven cooking temperatures vary. Mine were done at 10 minutes.

Image

While the sprouts are baking, mix together mayonnaise, lemon juice, garlic, and parsley and place in a serving dish.

Image

Serve brussels sprouts immediately along side the aioli. Delicious!

Image

Funny part of this recipe test was looking over and seeing our sneaky cat chomping away on a raw brussels sprout! Who would have thought? Haha. After a quick Google search of whether they are bad for cats or not, I found out that they are in large quantities and quickly removed it from her grip. Sneaky girl!

Image

Let us know in the comments what you thought of this recipe or you can email us at: two.lesbians.eating.out@gmail.com

Enjoy!

~ T & M